top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJason

The Unknown Mixtape, 1993



Another mixtape, this one being a little mysterious. I think I made it for Maya, but I'm not entirely sure. (Edit: now that I think about it, I made this for Maya's birthday. Happy birthday, Maya!) I can tell I made it in late 1993 because there's vinyl on it, and I'm playing records I had just gotten, which is why Ides of March, Blood Sweat & Tears, William Shatner, and Shadowy Men On a Shadowy Planet are in there, along with some Satanic stuff from an America Undercover special on HBO. My awful roommates and myself (or, just me. Those jerks didn't pay for anything and cost me about $1000 by the time we were evicted) had just subscribed to HBO so I could watch John Woo's great movie The Killer. I didn't put any pictures inside the tape, which suggests that I was either going through a minimalist period or that I just didn't have a tiny screwdriver to open it. Anyway, it's a fun one, bookended by two versions of Sweet Jane. Long live The Velvet Underground.





43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page